Grow Your Own Avocado Tree

They say it’s voodoo, I say it’s science. Because I bought an avocado fruit I saw that beautiful seed like an egg. I thought, why shouldn’t I grow my own avocado tree? I don’t even know if this is possible in Romania’s climate, but I’ve done a little research on the Internet and I decided to give it a try. So here is the link that really inspired me and taught me how to germinate the seed: http://www.wikihow.com/Plant-an-Avocado-Tree

It had passed a week and I hope that everything is going to be okay and I’ll have my baby avocado tree at the beginning of September.

What you should know about avocado?

Avocado (Persea americana) is a tree native to Central Mexico. The avocado fruits provide nearly 20 essential nutrients, including fiber, potassium, Vitamin E, B-vitamins and folic acid. They also act as a “nutrient booster” by enabling the body to absorb more fat-soluble nutrients, such as alpha and beta-carotene and lutein, in foods that are eaten with the fruit.

Toxicity to Animals

You should also know that avocado leaves, bark, skin, or pit are documented to be harmful to animals: cats, dogs, cattle, goats, rabbits, rats, birds, fish, and horses. Can be severely harmed or even killed when they consume them. Avocado leaves contain a toxic fatty acid derivative, persin, which in sufficient quantity can cause colic in horses and, without veterinary treatment, death. The symptoms include gastrointestinal irritation, vomiting, diarrhoea, respiratory distress, congestion, fluid accumulation around the tissues of the heart, and even death. Birds also seem to be particularly sensitive to this toxic compound. Feeding avocados or guacamole to an animal should be avoided completely.

Did you try to cultivate an avocado or another tree using seeds from fruits purchased at the market?

6 thoughts on “Grow Your Own Avocado Tree

  1. I have an 8′ tall grapefruit tree in my office that was started from a seed found in a grapefruit one morning by my friend’s grandson. She told me that the seed was sprouted when he found it. According to the internet, the variety grows to about 20 feet, so I tell people it’s my grapefruit bonsai, even though it’s 8 feet tall. Speaking of avocados, my grandmother used to start them all the time.

    • The problem is I do not know if these trees will ever make fruit, but at least they are good as decoration. When I was in high school I planted a lemon tree. I loved the lemon scented leaves, but unfortunately I did not take care of it properly and died. Next time, I should try to cultivate apples or peaches or other fruits available at the market.

  2. Pingback: How To Grow An Avocado Tree At Home In Container Or Land « The Potted Vegetable Gardener

  3. Pingback: 5 Benefits of Avocados | adrian lupsa

  4. Pingback: 2012 Review & A Happy New Year! | adrian lupsa

  5. Pingback: Baby Avocado Tree | adrian lupsa

Leave a Reply

