Home&Garden

Indoor Garden – Calendula officinalis

Good news! A month ago I started to plant different types of flowers and herbs. They have developed well, but in particular, marigolds grew the fastest and most beautiful of all.

Why I chose to grow Marigold (Calendula officinalis) ? It’s simple. Because of its properties: internal healing, anthelmintic, anti-tumor, anti-inflammatory, antiviral, antispasmodic. Now I wait for flowers to collect and preserve them for tea.  It is supposed to bloom from May until September.

marigold calendula baby plant

Calendula officinalis (pot marigold) is a plant in the genus Calendula, in the family Asteraceae. It is probably native to southern Europe though its long history of cultivation makes its precise origin unknown.

Calendula officinalis is widely cultivated as a herb and can be grown easily in sunny locations in most kinds of soils.  Calendula are considered by many gardening experts as one of the most versatile flowers to grow in a garden, especially since they are easy to grow, and tolerate most soils.

marigold calendula officinalis 1month years old

marigold calendula plant

I wrote in this article only about marigold, but I promise that soon I’ll write one more for the other herbs that I have, like basil, lavender, lovage… By the way, I just remembered, it’s almost end of April and I should start to plant sage (Salvia officinalis). So I promise another article about my indoor garden.

Do you have an indoor garden? Did you planted something or are you planning to do it?

5 thoughts on “Indoor Garden – Calendula officinalis

  1. Really nice plants you’re growing there ^^ Especially those herbs. Can’t wait to see them grow bigger =D
    I like their springish type of green ❤ ~~

  2. Hey Adrian how are you? Another reason to grow Marigolds in the garden is they keep away pests. Also if you have slugs or snails around they are attracted to the Marigolds saving your vegetable plants and other more delicate desirable flowers.

    Good post. I like gardening too. You need to post more about this subject. 🙂

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    1. I grow them indoor and I actually have some new photos, but I did not have the time to publish them. Thank you for the tips. I will remember them when I’m going to plant in the garden. 🙂

Leave a Reply

