Books

Interview with Nely Cab, author of Creatura + Giveaway

After reading Bungalow 2 by Danielle Steel I was wondering how an author can maintain the balance between family life and writing. In this way, I invited Nely Cab, the author of Creatura book series, to share with us a small part of her life.

GIVEAWAY! You can win a Windows application that allows you to stay up to date on news related to Nely Cab. After the installation, the program runs in background and every time when Nely Cab posts something on her Twitter account, a pop-up message appears in the bottom-right corner of your screen telling you the news. To receive your own copy of this software you have to leave a comment containing your opinion about Creatura book and your e-mail address.

nely cab author of creatura book series

1. Hi Nely! Thank you for accepting my invitation. Please tell us a few words  about yourself.
Hi Adrian! Thank you for extending the invitation to take part in this interview.
About Me: I’m 37 years old, I live in in the south of Texas, and I love perfume.

2. I read on a few blogs that your favorite color is black. In Art, black is described as achromatic. Any comments in this way?  (Sorry, but I have to be  a little mean). 
Yes, black is an achromatic color, but it also a neutral color that easily goes with all the rest of the colors. I feel that in a sense I am defined by the color black because I find that much like it, I can also pair with other personalities (people) in the same way without any problem.

3. A little bird told me that you love to cook. What is your favorite dish?
I don’t have a favorite dish, although I do tend to get overly excited about Mediterranean food.

4. Are you a garden lover? Which flowers you find more lovely? 
I do love gardens, but I have a black thumb. Everything I plant dies. If I planted weeds, they would probably die too. My favorite flowers are roses, jasmines, gardenias and hydrangeas.

rose garden adrian lupsa

5. I know that your son is nine year old. Have you allowed him to read your book since „Creatura” is rated as Young Adult Fiction?
No, my son has not yet read my book. He’s just starting to read Harry Potter books. I think that he’ll be ready to read my book in two years.

6. As a mother and also a writer, are you trying to influence your son to read or write? 
I do emphasize the importance of reading to my son. I don’t try to influence him to write because writing is something that should come naturally; however, he loves to draw, like me.

7. Did you read the Bungalow 2  by Danielle Steel? The main character, Tanya Harris, is a family addicted who writes from the comfort of her home. Sounds familiar? How do you handle with being a mother, a wife and a successful author, all in the same time?
I haven’t read Bungalow 2. As for writing, I have hours that I set aside to be „Nely the Author”. In order to write, to run a home, and take care of your family there must be some sort of schedule. My routine usually goes something like this during the school year…

A NORMAL DAY IN MY LIFE:

6:00 AM Wake up, get dressed, drink coffee, quickly check social networks and note pending emails.
6:40 AM Wake up my son, get him ready for school, feed him breakfast and leave my husband’s breakfast ready before I leave to drive my son to school.
7:15 AM – 8:05 AM Drive my son to and from school
8:05 AM – 9:00 AM eat breakfast while answering emails and checking pending packages that must be mailed, do laundry, wash dishes
9:00 AM – 11:00 AM Promote, answer emails and write interviews.
11:00 AM – 2:30 PM Brainstorm, Write, Promote, Think of what to cook for dinner, Brainstorm, Write, Promote, Run to the grocery store really fast, Forget to eat lunch, Write, Brainstorm, Promote, Eat Lunch.
2:30 PM Complain that the day has not lasted enough, drop off packages at the post office, pick up my son at school.
3:30 PM – 5:00 PM COFFEE BREAK: Visit and drink coffee with my mother and father, then drive home.
5:30 PM Remember that I was doing laundry this morning and run to get the rest of it done.
6:30 PM Start dinner then eat dinner.
8:00 PM Send my son to shower and get him ready for bed.
9:00 PM Put my son to bed. FINALLY, get to write and brainstorm without interruptions until I go to bed.
Between 11:00 PM and 1:00 AM Go to bed and while in bed remember that I didn’t finish washing the laundry.


8. What book(s) are you reading now?

I’m reading Thank My Lucky Scars by Ward Foley.

9. Talking about Creatura, are experiences from this book based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
Two of the characters were originally based on my brother’s and sister’s personalities, but the characters evolved as the story progressed. The story itself is not based on any personal experience. It is purely a work of fiction.

10. What was the hardest part of writing your book?
The hardest part of writing the book was coming up with the dialogue for each character. The dialogue must always be true to the character’s personality, and I found myself going back to edit their lines because the dialogue just didn’t fit the character.

vivus creatura series #2 nely cab11. When did you first know you could be a writer?
I didn’t ever think I could be a writer. I thought that one day I’d like to publish a book, but I never saw myself writing a series. I started writing short stories as a hobby. Creatura was one of the short stories that I was writing, but it was the only one that never seemed to end.  When I realized I had written 300 pages, I couldn’t believe it.

12. I know your working on  your new book, Vivus. How many pages did you write until now? Please also tell us the format of the page (A4, A5, Letter…) .
I have written 149 pages and 43.277 words in Letter page format, with line spacing set to 1.5.

13. In which moment of the day you are inspired to write more?
At night, when it is quiet, peaceful and I have nothing pending.

14. Do you have any advice for other writers?
Keep writing and learn from others.  Take even the worst critique as a means to better your writing.

15. Thank you again for the time you’ve given me. In the end, if you have a message for my readers or your fans, please add it here.
Thank you, again, Adrian, for this interview. I hope that you will enjoy Creatura when it is released in Romania. Until then, keep posting beautiful photos and wonderful recipe on your blog.

Check out her book Creatura:

Creatura BookWhen seventeen year-old Isis Martin is having trouble sleeping due to perturbing dreams of a horrific growling beast, she decides to confront her fear. But what Isis discovers is something other than a menacing entity.The human-like creature offers Isis assurance that he is not a figment of her imagination. Unwilling to accept his avowal, Isis sets his words to contest by asking the entity to prove himself – a dare, he readily welcomes.It is in her dreams that Isis innocently stumbles upon the silent existence of the divine lineage of those that man has long forgotten.In a quaint town, deep in south Texas, this story leads Isis onto the path of impermissible love and captivating life-changing truths. Ultimately, Isis discovers that this chapter in her life is only the beginning.

BOOK TRAILER:

You can buy this book here: AMAZON   BOOK DEPOSITORY   BARNES & NOBLE
NELY CAB WEBSITE

8 thoughts on “Interview with Nely Cab, author of Creatura + Giveaway

  1. Wow, really wonderful interview!! I really liked the A normal day in my life. It’s interesting to read a person’s daily scheduele especially an authors! I was amused about the laundry which did not want to be washed! Only at 1am can Nely breathe! :))
    I’m curious about Creatura. Hope it’s going to pe published in fall here.. or in winter. Who knows.
    I sorry to hear Nely’s plants can’t survive. Maybe her son has a lucky hand!!

    Also, really awesome giveaway! You know my e-mail so ;D

    1. Thank you! Actually her daily schedule inspired me to create this software. I was thinking at something like ‘What Nely Cab is doing now?’ and I decided to use her Twitter posts for this. Still have to finish some details, but when I’ll be done (I hope in one or two days) I will send you a copy of this application.
      P.S.: Thank you for posting on your blog about this giveaway.

Leave a Reply

