5 Benefits Of · Home&Garden · Shopping

5 Benefits of Cucumber

It’s Friday again and for my new column I chose the incredible cucumber. It’s one of the oldest cultivated vegetables and is grown worldwide in temperate regions.

cucumber

1. Keeps your body hydrated

Cucumber has 96% water, which helps in keeping your body hydrated and regulating body temperature. It also helps in flushing out the toxins from the body.

2. Skin Care

The high water content, vitamins A, B & C and the presence of magnesium, potassium and silica make cucumber an essential ingredient in skin care. Due to its astringent effect can be used to reduce sebum secretion and it is perfect for oily skins. Combined with apple and lemon juice can be used to tighten open pores.

3. Acts as diuretic

The water content of Cucumber acts as a diuretic. It encourages the elimination of waste products from the body through urination. Regular intake of cucumber helps to dissolve bladder or kidney stones.

4. Aid in Weight Loss

Due to its low calorie and high water content, cucumber is an ideal vegetable for people who are looking for weight loss.

5. Fights Cancer

Cucumbers are known to contain three lignans that have a strong history of research in connection with reduced risk of several cancer types, including breast cancer, prostate cancer, uterine cancer, and ovarian cancer.

8 thoughts on “5 Benefits of Cucumber

  1. Hey Adrian,
    thx for the follow and thx for posting this great post that made yesterday’s meal taste even better 🙂 I like you saying that you are unpredictable, looking really forward to your next posts (am following you now, too). You might check out if we share some thoughts: http://gammagamification.wordpress.com/2013/08/02/ten-thoughts-that-changed-my-life/. And you might recommend me some of your blog entries.
    Have a great day & may the force be with you,
    Chris

    1. Thank you Chris! I followed you, mainly because you are studying informatics. I’ve graduated recently the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science and I’m really interested in what you have to offer on your blog. I’m also really glad that you enjoyed my blog. 🙂

      1. You’re welcome, Adrian! What subjects are you interested in about informatics? I can recommend you a very cool blog of one of my former lecturers who used to be something like an idol for me: http://schneide.wordpress.com/
        I read on your about page that you like to draw? Maybe you can draw me a better-looking version of my first ugly draft for my favorite future fashion store? You can read about my store vision here: http://gammagamification.wordpress.com/2013/07/30/how-i-imagine-my-favorite-future-fashion-store
        If you want to give it a try, just write me an email and I will send you my ugly draft 🙂 Would be great!
        Have a great day & may the force be with you,
        Chris

        1. I’m so sorry for replying you so late, but I don’t know why, your message was marked as spam and now I’ve seen it. It’s true that I like to draw, but I never said that I’m a professional in the domain. Thank you for your trust, but sincerely I know persons who draw better than me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

