Recipes

Green Tea Rice

Green Tea Rice

I found this idea on the Internet and I wanted to give it a try. It’s good, but not extraordinary. The green tea flavor is not very prominent and I would improve this recipe with some lemon and I would try to infuse the green tea in milk. Maybe next time, but until then here is the recipe I tried:

Ingredients:
2 cups sweetened green tea
1 cup uncooked rice
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon salt

How It’s Made?
Step 1: Bring tea to a boil in a saucepan and, stir in rice and salt.
Step 2: Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer for 20 minutes or until tea is absorbed and rice is tender.
Step 3: Add the vanilla extract, powder with cinnamon and serve.

9 thoughts on “Green Tea Rice

  1. I hoped this day was the day you decided to man up and eat raw minced meat. I seem to be in for a bit of a disappointment. Also, you may wish to work up on the presentation, see my above point.

    1. Lol. I would never eat raw meat. I know it doesn’t look very pleasant, but the color is given by the green tea. Nevertheless, this is not my recipe or idea. I just tried it and I shared it. I’m sure that by adding lemon, the color would change into one more pleasant. Thank you for your visit and for the comment, too. I always appreciate the honest opinion of my readers. 🙂

    1. I know it doesn’t look very pleasant, but green tea gives a yellow-brown color. It is called ‘green’, because it has been dried without fermenting so there is minimal oxidation during processing. I could fix the color by adding food coloring, but I didn’t want to add any artificial ingredient. Your recipes seem interesting and they are eye-catching. Thanks for sharing!

      1. Sure thing Adrian, your welcome.

        Later I thought about the color. That it could be for the vanilla. Did you use clear vanilla or the dark colored one. Even pure vanilla is dark colored, as they add caramel color to it. If that is the case, if you used the dark colored one; that would explain the reddish color to your rice. Which is fine, as long as it taste good, that’s what matters!! 🙂

        1. In reality it’s not so reddish, but because of the light, the photo has that kind of influences. Also, it has ground cinnamon on top. It tastes good, but not extraordinary. There is place for improvements. 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on adrian lupsa and commented:

    Hi everyone! I haven’t forgot that Halloween is approaching, so I have prepared some treats for you. I’m waiting for tomorrow’s morning to take some really beautiful photos in the daylight. Until then, I re-blogged the green tea rice recipe, which (in the opinion of some people) looks like minced raw meat. Perfect to delight your guests at your Halloween party. And it’s healthy, too. Enjoy and see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

