Uncategorized

Spring Lovage Soup

Spring Lovage Soup

Recently, I received a message from Liz, one of my followers, in which she asked me about ideas for how to use lovage in the kitchen. The first thing that came in my mind was that the leaves can be used in salads or to make soup. Its flavor and smell is somewhat similar to celery. In Romania, the leaves are the preferred seasoning for the various local broths, much more than parsley or dill. For today, I prepared a fresh creamy soup, which I consider appropriate for this time of the year. I hope you will enjoy this recipe.

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 bunch green onions (white and green parts, chopped)
1 small white onion (chopped)
2 cups chicken stock
3 medium potatoes
1 bunch lovage leaves
heavy cream or yogurt (optional — to serve)

How It’s Made?
Step 1: Put the oil in a pan and stir in green and white onions. Fry until fragrant, about five minutes.
Lovage Soup - Step 1
Step 2: Pour in chicken stock and stir in chopped potatoes. Simmer, covered, until potatoes are tender. Add lovage and simmer, a further two or three minutes.
Lovage Soup - Step 2.1
Lovage Soup - Step 2.2
Step 3: Remove from heat and blend with an immersion blender until smooth. Season with sea salt and freshly ground pepper. You can add a spoonful of heavy cream (or yogurt) and serve.
Lovage Soup

10 thoughts on “Spring Lovage Soup

  1. I have a lovage plant that is growing like mad on my balcony and this looks lovely. I could easily sub the chicken stock for veggie stock and make it vegetarian, too. I wonder what carrots would be like in there? Good, I bet!

    1. Actually, I used vegetable stock instead. It’s just a personal preference, but the recipe was with chicken stock, so that’s why I wrote so.
      When I opened the fridge to get the green onion, I saw some carrots and I thought to include them too, but I changed my mind. Maybe next time. 🙂 Thank you for your visit and comment!

  2. This is great Adrian. You are always cooking with food items I have never seen before. I need to go to the Whole Foods Market again to get this Lovage Leaf.
    Have you always eaten like this or did you appreciate eating like this after you left home? 🙂 Thanks for sharing your food creations Adrian!!

    Randall
    http://www.savorthefood.com

    1. I’m glad that I could help Randall. You should search lovage. It gives a fresh taste to any dish. We usually use it in soups.
      I haven’t left my home, yet. 🙂 I can’t remember when I started to eat in this way. I guess, when I went to college.

Leave a Reply

