Recipes

Horseradish Soup

I know that horseradish is not a very common ingredient, so here is a suggestion on how you can use it in the kitchen. Also, I would recommend you to consume this soup in winter, because horseradish is a hot spice and it warms the body. The reason why I’m publishing this now is that the leaves of this plant are harvested at this time of the year. You can put them in plastic bags and keep them into the freezer for later use.

Horseradish Soup
Ingredients:
2 large horseradish leaves
1 small carrot
1 small yellow onion
2 tablespoons rice
2-3 cups water
2 tablespoons sunflower oil
salt and pepper

How It’s Made?
Step 1: Cut the carrot and the onion and put them into a pan with sunflower oil. Cook until golden, for about 5 minutes.
Step 2: Add the water and the rice and cook until the carrot is tender.
Step 3: In this time, boil some water into a saucepan and scald the horseradish leaves for a few seconds. Cut them into pieces, removing the main steam of the leaf.
Step 4: Add the leaves to the soup and cook for another 5 minutes.
Step 5: Season with salt and pepper and serve!

7 thoughts on “Horseradish Soup

  1. You post the most amazing recipes Adrian. I never ate the leaves before. I do have a recipe though that uses the root. You can find it http://www.savorthefood.com on the Recipes page it’s called “Apple Mango and Radish Salad.” I am going to try this soup as we have a Whole Foods Market in town now. You can buy a lot of veggies and fruits I never seen before. I still get the Black radish from time to time.

    Thanks for the recipe.

    Randall
    http://www.savorthefood.com

    1. Thank you! Me neither. I just used my imagination and invented this recipe using things from the garden and surprisingly it was good. If you try it, please tell me what you think. Although, I don’t know if you’ll be able to find the horseradish leaves (they usually grow in Spring).

Leave a Reply

