Recipes · Shopping

Squid Ink Pasta

You’ve probably seen squid ink pasta on menus at your favorite restaurant or sold in food stores. I’ve seen them in a supermarket and they were on sale. I paid almost one dollar for a 250 gram box of squid ink pasta. This strange looking black pasta is made from eggs, flour, a little salt and ink from squid butts (sorry, but I can’t use another word for this. Read more about the squid Digestive System).

Squid Ink Pasta

I cooked the pasta for 3-4 minutes, respecting the instructions on the label. I hesitated for a moment before eating, because I didn’t know what to expect. Finally, I took courage and tasted. Even though it didn’t have a strong specific flavor, I found it really difficult to eat. Only the idea that was containing squid ink was disturbing. The conclusion is that I will not try this recipe anytime soon.

8 thoughts on “Squid Ink Pasta

    1. Interesting. I’ve seen some recipes on the Internet, but never tested them. I don’t think I’m going to do it very soon after this experience. I must first go over my prejudices about squid ink. I can’t wait to discover your experience with this dish. 🙂

    1. It didn’t have a particular taste. It was like regular pasta with a barely noticing flavor of iodine. If you add cheese and parsley you will not notice that slightly flavor. I just have a problem (in my head) with the idea of squid ink. That’s all. 😀

Leave a Reply

