Home&Garden

Spring Gardening: Preparation

Starting with March, it’s the perfect time to prepare for gardening. I’ve already bought plant seeds because they were on sale and I’m ready to greet Spring as it deserves. So here are my latest acquisitions:

  • Parsley (Petroselium crispum)
  • Thyme/Savory (Satureja hortensis)
  • Basil (Ocimum basilicum)

Herb Seeds

  • Anemone de Caen (Mixed)
  • Lavender (Lavandula spica)
  • Dill (Anethum graveolens)
  • Lettuce (Lactuca sativus)

Spring Seeds

How do you prepare yourself for Spring? Did you plan to make your own garden (outdoors or indoors)?

10 thoughts on “Spring Gardening: Preparation

  1. I am already so excited for spring, your post only heightens that! I wish I had more space to have a garden, as I only have a small balcony and it is somewhat shady. But I make do with what I have and grow basil, mint, jalapeños, cilantro, and even a lemon tree! I hope to add more this year, too.

    1. This sounds great. I have a small balcony too, and I use it for planting different herbs (that are usually very expensive to buy at the store). I also use my room windowsill to keep plants in small pots. I’ve tried to cultivate a lemon tree in the past, but unsuccessfully. Now I have an avocado tree, but I don’t know why, during the winter, it remained without leaves 😦 It wasn’t supposed to be like that since it grows indoors.

      1. Adrian, you’re living my dream by having your own avocado tree! Hopefully it turns around for you. I live in an area far too seasonal for an avocado tree to tolerate, though. My lemon tree is just barely making it 🙂

  2. Hi. I think my days of a big garden are gone (we used to have a 40 x 25 foot garden). Now I do a little garden each year. I thought I’d try an idea I saw about planting lettuce and other salad greens directly into a bag of soil, slit open, holes punched for drainage and planted. I am bad and use old seeds. I am inspired by your post to buy new seeds this year…. Jane

    1. I’m glad to hear that my post inspired you, Jane. I have no idea where I’m going to plant the lettuce (because I live in an apartment, so no garden here too), but your idea sounds good. I bought the lettuce seeds because they were on sale. I paid less than $0.30 for them.
      P.S.: You can try planting the old seeds. I tried once some expired marigold seeds and it was a success. 😀

  3. I’m looking to grow my own basil when the weather warms up here… I haven’t grown any before, so it’ll be interesting. If you have any tips, I’d love to hear them!

    1. I planted basil last year and I’m going to do it again this year. It’s a great herb to have in your house, because it gives a great flavor to every dish. Basil loves Sun and it needs plenty of water in canicular days. By removing the flowers you stimulate the leaf growth. I also recommend you to start planting indoors and then move the plants into the garden (if you have one). Hope this helps. Thanks for the comment and the visit, too.

  4. I have just sown some tomatoes in the house. For now they are under a table since we have underfloor heating.
    You could eat your lettuce as micro greens if you don’t have room to grow them on.

    1. I don’t know if we are going to cultivate some cherry tomatoes. They grow pretty well indoors. The idea of micro greens sounds good to me. Thanks for the suggestion! 😀

  5. Yahoo, Spring is soon here!! I have written some articles about preparing the out door garden. Soon to post them.

    I like your selection of seeds. Lots of success to you with planting and growing this Spring Adrian!! 😉

    Regards,
    Randy

Leave a Reply

